GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
My city seems on water. How do I contribute to get it on land?  XML
Forum Index -> General
Author Message
chakian



Joined: 09/07/2019 20:15:03
Messages: 3
Offline

I don't know if I am on the right forum, please tell me if this should be posted somewhere else.

I am playing a geo-location based game and the game uses geonames supplied data to determine whether the user selected location is on land or on water.

For some locations, where it's actually land and I have been walking on it, it seems like the geonames service reports the location as water. Is there a way to report these locations as "land"?

Thanks in advance.
chakian



Joined: 09/07/2019 20:15:03
Messages: 3
Offline

I have found the polygon that defines the land borders in my city. But I couldn't figure a way out to update the polygon, there's only basic information that can be edited.

This is how Istanbul city's borders are seen:


And this is the update panel:
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4196
Offline

Thanks for reporting. The boundaries are not editable. We have searched for better data. The update is in progress. It will take some days till it is visible on the api.
Attached a screenshot of how it will look with the update.

Marc
[Thumb - Screenshot_2019-07-16 GeoNames Shape Editor.png]
 Description [Disk] Download
 Filesize 946 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  1486 time(s)


[WWW]
chakian



Joined: 09/07/2019 20:15:03
Messages: 3
Offline

It seems correct. Thank you very much for the update and for the quick response.
 
Forum Index -> General
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team