GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
HR: Croatia / Hrvatska - ADM2 duplicates  XML
Forum Index -> General
Author Message
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello,
I would like to suggest some corrections to the observed duplicate inputs of ADM2 levels:

1) Grad Buje-Buie
3203088, Grad Buje, Istria (04)
11054748, Buje-Buie, Istria (04)

2) Grad Poreč-Parenzo
3192696, Grad Poreč, Istria (04)
11054814, Poreč-Parenzo, Istria (04)

3) Grad Pula-Pola
3192222, Grad Pula, Istria (04)
11054815, Pula-Pola, Istria (04)

4) Grad Rovinj-Rovigno
3191516, Grad Rovinj, Istria (04)
11054817, Rovinj-Rovigno, Istria (04)

5) Grad Umag-Umago
11054822, Umag-Umago, Istria (04)
11129767, Grad Umag, Istria (04)

6) Grad Vodnjan-Dignano
11054827, Vodnjan-Dignano, Istria (04)
11129768, Grad Vodnjan, Istria (04)

7) Općina Višnjan-Visignano
11054824, Višnjan-Visignano, Istria (04)
11129785, Općina Višnjan, Istria (04)

8) Općina Vižinada-Visinada
11054825, Vižinada-Visinada, Istria (04)
11129784, Općina Vižinada, Istria (04)

9) Grad Makarska
3195888, Town of Makarska, Split-Dalmatia (15)
12233413, Grad Makarska, Split-Dalmatia (15)

Remarks:

a) The first eight settlements / administrative centers are located in Istria, where bilingual names are common due to the Italian minority

b) basically (except for the City of Zagreb), there are two types of ADM2 levels:
1) hrv: Grad = eng: Town
2) hrv: Općina = eng: Municipality




marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

Thanks.

Do you know whether there is an official code for the municipalities in croatia? It is easier to keep track of duplicates if their is a national code which we can also use as admincode2.

Best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

There is one more ADM2 duplicate found (I think last one in ADM2 type; Grad - Town, while type: Općina - Municipality I haven't checked yet):


Grad Đakovo alt: Djakovo, Gjakovo, Dakovo

3202219, Grad Đakovo, Osječko-Baranjska (10) - seems ok
11054459, Đakovo, Osječko-Baranjska (10) - geo coordinates badly dislocated, deletion suggested


It seems that there is a problem with the Croatian letter "Đ" (small "đ") on the map search: it does not show all results. Inconsistencies in codepage formatting?

Best Regards
Alen
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

Thanks Alen, I have deleted the duplicate.

I see we have a conversion rule to convert Đ internally into GJ for simplified ascii spelling and search.
Is this correct or should it be 'dj' instead and we have a typo in the rule?

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Both are correct. It actually depends on the origin of the word. However, the substitution of the letter Đ into Dj (small letter đ into dj) is commonly used.

Like the web addresses of the mentioned cities:

Grad Đurđevac (Town of Djurdjevac):
https://djurdjevac.hr/

Grad Đakovo (Town of Djakovo)
https://www.djakovo.hr/

Here are the all substitutions of croatian letters:

Č -> C; č -> c
Ć -> C; ć -> c (the same as Č)
Đ -> Dj; đ -> dj
Š -> S; š -> s
Ž -> Z; ž -> z

two-letter character, denotes one phoneme

Dž -> Dz; dž -> dz

also

Lj; lj (substitution is not necessary, but causes problems when alphabetical order)
Nj; nj (same as Lj)

By the way, related to our previous conversation about ADM1 and ADM2 official codes, I am preparing a separate post.

Best regards
Alen


ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello Marc,
you asked if there are official codes for administrative divisions in HR.
I don't know how deep to go, so as not to bore you with irrelevant information.

At first, yes, there are. According to the law, the State Geodetic Administration (hrv: Državna geodetska uprava) maintains the so-called Register of Spatial Units (hrv: Registar prostornih jedinica), but it is not public. (Absolute nonsense, but that's how it is). Also, when submitting a request for this data, they request that the given informations not be published publicly!
I can provide you a relevant links (unfortunately, pages are only in Croatian), if you wish so.

Second, (probably because of the above), those codes are mostly not used. I only find them sporadically on publicly available documents. That's why I don't even see the purpose of their implementation in the GeoNames database. I intend to start a discussion about this on some internal Croatian forums.

There is nothing left but to edit them manually.
I'm not entirely sure, but I think we cleaned up the duplicates at the ADM2 level (I didn't spot them at the ADM1 level). Likewise, links to parent administrative units (ADM2 -> ADM1) appear to be well organized.

It is only necessary to edit the nomenclature and harmonize it with the official names.
I'll try to help you with that.
As a basis, I suggest the last population census, which was conducted in 2021. The final data were published a few months ago.

Here are the links:

Source: Croatian Bureau of Statistics (Državni zavod za statistiku)
https://dzs.gov.hr/

Direct web page (functional only in Croatian language) :
https://dzs.gov.hr/vijesti/objavljeni-konacni-rezultati-popisa-2021/1270

And direct links to xls tables (provided on the near-bottom of the web page):

ADM2 level:
https://podaci.dzs.hr/media/td3jvrbu/popis_2021-stanovnistvo_po_gradovima_opcinama.xlsx

Settlement level:
https://podaci.dzs.hr/media/rqybclnx/popis_2021-stanovnistvo_po_naseljima.xlsx

I suggest not to rush in, because I already linked this data with my database. Also, I'm trying to link GeoNames id's into it. ADM levels are already linked.
After some cross-checking of data, i will it provide to you.
Unfortunately, on the settlement level is a total mess on the GeoNames, it's a lot of work left to do. But, let's go step by step.

Best regards,
Alen
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Helo!
How long does it take for the changes to be visible?
Yesterday I changed about forty codes PPL > PPLA2, according to the relevant data, and corrected the administrative hierarchy for some larger settlements. The changes are recorded in the list of recent modifications, but today they are not visible on the map, nor in the file.

If my corrections are accepted, all the headquarters of the administrative units are correctly marked except:

PPL > PPLA2
8505062 Stubicke Toplice (Seat of ADM2: Municipality of Stubicke Toplice)
3189067 Tkon (Seat of ADM2: Municipality of Tkon)

I do not have user rights for these changes and cannot change the codes myself.
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

I have changed the two ppla to ppla2 and set the admin2 codes.

I don't understand the comment about the changes not being visible. Was it a temporary glitch or is it still the case?

best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello
A few days after I made the changes, the former statuses remained.
Today I compared the freshly downloaded data file and it seems to be fine now, except:

3203961 Blato - seat of ADM2: 11054968 Mljet
please, change it - I have no administrative rights.


Also, I found a few more similar bugs (I guess I missed them before) and changed them. Hope it will be recorded in database.

In the meantime, I'm adding settlements that were not in the Geonames, but are on the new population census.
I see a few issues here as well and will be looking for help in the future.
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello,
here are a few more duplicates that I can't delete.
I got the message "Authentication error, log in.", even though I'm logged in.

Drivenik:
3201173
3201172

Jurićev Kal:
3214737
3198551

Šmrika
3190435
3214547

Šulinec
3189525
3216359

After this, I believe that all settlements appearing in the 2021 census will be registered (and basicaly corrected) in Geonames.
In the coming days, I plan to download fresh csv file, and do another cross-check between your data and mine. If everything is OK, it is necessary to enter actual population data for each settlement in Geonames. Can you do that somehow automaticaly from sheet or csv? I can send it to you, with established relations between GeonameID and actual data.

Best regards, Alen
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

thanks a lot. I have deleted the duplicates.

You can send me a csv file with geonameid,population and I can run a batch update job.

Best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello
I would suggest a few more corrections:

1) Please delete:
3275475 Lipovo Polje - Dislocated, duplicate 3196488

2) I cannot add/correct the ADM status of some settlements.
I have attached a csv file with the correct administrative hierarchy, so you can correct them.

Best regards
Alen
 Description [Disk] Download
 Filesize 2 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  519 time(s)

marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

thanks a lot Alen.

The update is done.

Best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline

Hello
and here is the population according to the 2021 census.
The data were taken from the Croatian Bureau of Statistic
https://dzs.gov.hr/vijesti/objaveni-konacni-rezultati-popisa-2021/1270
I tested relations with GeonameID's, and I believe everything is correct. CSV file in attachment.

I would like to ask you to state the source, according to the publisher's request.

Best regards,
Alen
 Description [Disk] Download
 Filesize 450 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  520 time(s)

marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4355
Offline

Hi Alen

Thanks a lot. The update is done.

Source is marked here:
https://www.geonames.org/countries/HR/croatia.html#nationaldataproviders

Is there a license or desired credit text for the source?

Best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
ZelezniCk



Joined: 29/11/2022 10:58:51
Messages: 10
Location: Čakovec, Croatia
Offline


The data is publicly available for use, the publisher (DZS) requests to cite the source.
Quote from the header of the data sheet: "Users are kindly requested to state the source."

So, I'm sure that's fine.
Alen
 
Forum Index -> General
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team