GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
"Authorization Error, please login" while editing certain names  XML
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Author Message
Torguy



Joined: 23/02/2021 08:38:10
Messages: 2
Offline

I'm getting an error, "Authorization Error, please login", while editing certain names. I assume they are protected in some way. Is there a way that I can edit these?

I am using the account "Torguy2".
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4428
Offline

Hi

I have increased your userlevel.
Thanks a lot for your contributions.

Marc

[WWW]
missinglink



Joined: 09/06/2021 12:36:28
Messages: 1
Offline

I'm also receiving "Authorization Error, please login." when trying to update the location of https://www.geonames.org/1694008/republic-of-the-philippines.html to a lat/lon which lies inside the polygon.

I'm logged in
rach.ng



Joined: 15/07/2021 06:13:40
Messages: 3
Offline

Hello,

Am trying to update the preferred en for Brisbane (class: city) - http://www.geonames.org/2174003/brisbane.html as Brisbane CBD. Am receiving the error "Authorization Error, please login".

Is it possible for me to have access to edit this? I seem to be able to edit the others fine.

Username: rach.ng
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4428
Offline

Hi Rachel

I assume CBD stands for 'central business district'?
If yes, then it is here
https://www.geonames.org/11523822/brisbane-central-business-district.html


Best Regards

Marc

[WWW]
rach.ng



Joined: 15/07/2021 06:13:40
Messages: 3
Offline

Hi Marc,

Thank you for sharing, will continue the conversation via email as there may be more to discuss.

Thanks!
seashell16



Joined: 22/10/2021 00:47:26
Messages: 2
Offline

I'm having the same problem. I'm trying to add some public parks in Toronto so I can link them with Wikidata, but am being asked to log in (although I am logged in already).
ádrenos



Joined: 01/12/2021 17:51:11
Messages: 2
Offline

I’m having the same problem trying to edit or delete feature Ciénaga la Zapallera id 3782991.

Natural feature describes a lake, it doesn’t exist there.

As an alternative it can be edited to show real conditions of place as

Zame: Zanjón La Cañada
Class: Stream,Lake,…(H)
Code: Drainage canal (CNLD)


nazarpunk



Joined: 31/03/2023 11:11:15
Messages: 2
Offline

im having the same problem when editing alternate names https://www.geonames.org/703446/kyiv-oblast.html
Admin



Joined: 19/11/2005 16:33:24
Messages: 48
Offline

nazarpunk wrote:
im having the same problem when editing alternate names https://www.geonames.org/703446/kyiv-oblast.html
 

what do you want to change for kyiv.
antonsanakoev



Joined: 03/04/2023 16:33:35
Messages: 1
Offline

Admin wrote:

nazarpunk wrote:
im having the same problem when editing alternate names https://www.geonames.org/703446/kyiv-oblast.html
 

what do you want to change for kyiv. 


Hello!
Can you please delete the 2nd definition of the city for "ko" lang code?
https://www.geonames.org/1835895/seosan.html
It is a duplicate and written in Chinese.
nazarpunk



Joined: 31/03/2023 11:11:15
Messages: 2
Offline

Admin wrote:

nazarpunk wrote:
im having the same problem when editing alternate names https://www.geonames.org/703446/kyiv-oblast.html
 

what do you want to change for kyiv. 


ru Russian Kiyevskaya Oblast <-----
ru Russian Киевская область
VioletMoon



Joined: 14/11/2023 19:53:10
Messages: 1
Offline

I am also having this issue, trying to remove the code "xxx" from Hassfurt (https://www.geonames.org/2909335/hassfurt.html), it claims to be an IATA code but I can find no evidence for this, neither in the IATA database nor on the airfield's website (the correct code is an ICAO code, EDQT)
tohuuuu



Joined: 27/11/2023 20:25:35
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi.

the entry https://www.geonames.org/129173/kaliri.html has a wrong link, i can't delete it - maybe because of inssuficient privileges. There are (at least) two villages named Kaliri in Iran, the entry linked above refers to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaliri,_Zarabad, not to
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaliri,_Iranshahr.

Sincerely, tohuuuu
ckirilov



Joined: 24/12/2023 07:33:00
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi there,
I'm using the account ckirilov and I have the same problem described by others: I get the message "Authorization Error, please login" when I try to update the location of a certain place in Bulgaria (e.g. https://www.geonames.org/727832/radomir.html).
I'm currently working on a GIS project and I want to put Geonames links in the attribute tables for each entity, but there are numerous places with more or less wrong coordinates in the Geonames database, ranging from 200 to 2000 meters.
Cheers and Merry Christmas
IbrahimKumar



Joined: 02/03/2024 10:56:59
Messages: 1
Offline

I receive the error "Authorization error, please log in" when trying to correct the coordinates of a peak, which are incorrectly set. What should I do to change them?
The new coordinates that I would like to add are those published in the National Atlas of the country, and on Peakbagger.com
 
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team