GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Country code from countryInfo.txt  XML
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Author Message
Sam



Joined: 05/03/2008 06:58:28
Messages: 28
Offline

I have done analysis on geoname and it shows that
Name iso code from countryinfo.txt country code fromallcountries.txt
Aland Islands AX FI
Serbia and Montenegro CS RS


How do i map this two code so that i get all its children correctly?
Should i use Iso code for getting its children or country code?
Iso code is more standard and independent.
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3993
Offline

Sam

The ISO country code AX for the Aland Islands is not yet used in the geonames database. It is included in the countryinfo.txt file to be complete with ISO.

The country code 'CS' for the former Serbia and Montenegro is obsolete :
http://geonames.wordpress.com/2006/09/30/iso-codes-for-serbia-and-montenegro/

It is still in use for some records where we have not yet corrected it. Please feel free to help us correct it.

Marc

[WWW]
Sam



Joined: 05/03/2008 06:58:28
Messages: 28
Offline

i have found that all the codes used in allcountries.txt are same as iso code but except the two codes mentioned above does not have same code.

So are we using fips code for the country code mapping with its children records?

also i had one more question if i want to extract only cities is there any way by which i can use one of these code

PPL
PPLC
PPLA etc
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3993
Offline

Sam

The country codes are the ISO code, the FIPS codes are used for admin1 regions.

For cities you can use the featureclass 'P', or all of the featurecodes you are interested in.

Marc

[WWW]
 
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team