GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
The Netherlands (bugs)  XML
Forum Index -> Administrative Divisions
Author Message
cagliostro



Joined: 04/04/2007 01:27:22
Messages: 12
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Offline

Hello Guys

I have found a few mistakes with naming:

http://ws.geonames.org/countryInfo?lang=en&country=NL
Nothing wrong here, as the capital is Amsterdam.

http://ws.geonames.org/countryInfo?lang=nl&country=NL
This one is wrong as 's-Gravenhage = Den Haag = The Hague
(I live in Den Haag, but the fact is that Amsterdam is the capital)

http://ws.geonames.org/children?geonameId=2750405
North Brabant -> Provincie Noord-Brabant
South Holland -> Provincie Zuid-Holland
(in fact would be nice to implement lang parameter here)

Cheers!
[WWW] [MSN] [ICQ]
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3993
Offline

Thanks. The capital name for the language 'nl' is wrong. I will fix it.

The children service is internationalized. See the Spanish version of the service, as an example :
http://ws.geonames.org/children?geonameId=2750405&lang=es

It depends on the alternate names we have available for each language. You can help us improve this with the wiki edit interface. Example (click on the link 'alternate names') :
http://www.geonames.org/2749990/provincie-noord-brabant.html

The names for admin divisions are cached in a property file. Changes will not be visible in the web services immediately.

Cheers

Marc
[WWW]
cagliostro



Joined: 04/04/2007 01:27:22
Messages: 12
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Offline

marc wrote:
Thanks. The capital name for the language 'nl' is wrong. I will fix it.

The children service is internationalized. See the Spanish version of the service, as an example :
http://ws.geonames.org/children?geonameId=2750405&lang=es

It depends on the alternate names we have available for each language. You can help us improve this with the wiki edit interface. Example (click on the link 'alternate names') :
http://www.geonames.org/2749990/provincie-noord-brabant.html

The names for admin divisions are cached in a property file. Changes will not be visible in the web services immediately.

Cheers

Marc 


Hi Marc,

I would propose to remove word 'Provincie'. You can use 'provincie' for Dutch language only as 'provincie' means province or land. In my opinion for other languages the word 'provincie' should be translated or removed at all. Otherwise, it's rather strange to see Dutch word together with Spanish or Russian or whatever name of the land.

Dutch: Provincie
English: Province
Russian: Провинция

I will try to help you to fix some names.

Cheers,

Mike
[WWW] [MSN] [ICQ]
cagliostro



Joined: 04/04/2007 01:27:22
Messages: 12
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Offline

I have added Russian translations to Dutch and Russian provinces.
[WWW] [MSN] [ICQ]
 
Forum Index -> Administrative Divisions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team