GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Wrong Kiev timezone data.  XML
Forum Index -> General
Author Message
lightalloy



Joined: 29/01/2018 10:51:53
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi.
I'm trying to get time zone information by latitude and longitude.
My query is:
http://api.geonames.org//timezoneJSON?lat=50.45466&lng=30.5238&username=%my_username%
The result is: country: Russia, timezone: Europe/Moscow.
Though the result should be country: Ukraine, timezone: Europe/Kiev

https://www.google.ru/maps/place/50%C2%B027'16.8%22N+30%C2%B031'25.7%22E/@50.4496399,30.5239298,13z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x0:0x0!8m2!3d50.45466!4d30.5238
arcpointgroup


[Avatar]

Joined: 23/02/2018 03:33:03
Messages: 1
Offline

I have been testing a variety of time zone APIs and so far have only found one that consistently returns the correct values. I ran your test against it and it indeed returned "Ukraine, Europe/Kiev" as you stated it should.

Take a look at TimeZoneDB:
https://timezonedb.com/

Here's my API call:
https://api.timezonedb.com/v2/get-time-zone?lat=50.45466&lng=30.5238&key=PRIVATE&format=json&by=position

And here is the response:

Code:
 {
     "status": "OK",
     "message": "",
     "countryCode": "UA",
     "countryName": "Ukraine",
     "zoneName": "Europe/Kiev",
     "abbreviation": "EET",
     "gmtOffset": 7200,
     "dst": "0",
     "dstStart": 1509238800,
     "dstEnd": 1521939600,
     "nextAbbreviation": "EEST",
     "timestamp": 1519360269,
     "formatted": "2018-02-23 04:31:09"
 }
 

marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 4412
Offline

The geonames api also returns Europe/Kiev:

Code:
 {
   "sunrise": "2018-02-23 06:55",
   "lng": 30.5238,
   "countryCode": "UA",
   "gmtOffset": 2,
   "rawOffset": 2,
   "sunset": "2018-02-23 17:28",
   "timezoneId": "Europe/Kiev",
   "dstOffset": 3,
   "countryName": "Ukraine",
   "time": "2018-02-23 13:55",
   "lat": 50.45466
 }
 


There was a temporary bug on some of the free servers returning Russia.

[WWW]
lightalloy



Joined: 29/01/2018 10:51:53
Messages: 2
Offline

It used to return 'Europe/Moscow', but now the response is correct. The issue is resolved, thanks.
 
Forum Index -> General
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team