GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
utf8 names for administrative subdivision  XML
Forum Index -> Administrative Divisions
Author Message
Anonymous



Hi,

'geoname' table have fields:
name : name of geographical point (utf varchar(200)
asciiname : name of geographical point in plain ascii characters, varchar(200)

admin1Codes.txt file have only utf8 names for administrative subdivision

is it possible to have plain ascii characters for administrative subdivision?

Thanks
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3926
Offline

Hi

There is now a file admin1CodesASCII.txt in the download directory :
http://download.geonames.org/export/dump/admin1CodesASCII.txt

It is created during the full dump using the English alternate name if one is available.
For some admin divisions we don't yet have an English alternate name and the main name is exported. Example China :
http://www.geonames.org/search.html?q=adm1+cn

You can help us fix this and add an English alternate name using the wiki interface (click on the alternate name link in the bubble and add a new alternate name).

Regards

Marc

[WWW]
Anonymous



Hi, Marc
Many thanks for this file
http://download.geonames.org/export/dump/admin1CodesASCII.txt
but please check how is it possible foe example:

GE.00 Ts'ageris Raioni
GE.00 T'ianet'is Raioni
GE.00 T'et'ritsqaros Raioni
GE.00 T'erjolis Raioni
GE.00 K'alak'i T'bilisi
GE.00 Sighnaghis Raioni
GE.00 Senakis Raioni
GE.00 Samtrediis Raioni
GE.00 Sagarejos Raioni
GE.00 Ozurget'is Raioni
GE.00 Mts'khet'is Raioni
GE.00 Mestiis Raioni
GE.00 Baghdat'is Raioni
GE.00 Martvilis Raioni
GE.00 Marneulis Raioni
GE.00 Lentekhis Raioni
GE.00 Akhalgoris Raioni
GE.00 Lanch'khut'is Raioni
GE.00 Khonis Raioni
GE.00 Khobis Raioni
GE.00 Qazbegis Raioni
GE.00 Kaspis Raioni
GE.00 Gurjaanis Raioni
GE.00 Goris Raioni
GE.00 Gardabanis Raioni
GE.00 Javis Raioni
GE.00 Dushet'is Raioni
GE.00 Dmanisis Raioni
GE.00 Ch'okhatauris Raioni
GE.00 Ch'khorotsqus Raioni
GE.00 Bolnisis Raioni
GE.00 K'alak'i Tsqaltubo
GE.00 Ajaria [provisional]
GE.00 Adigenis Raioni
GE.00 Abkhazia [provisional]
GE.00 Abashis Raioni
GE.00 K'alak'i Gori
GE.00 K'alak'i K'ut'aisi
GE.00 K'alak'i P'ot'i
GE.00 K'alak'i Rust'avi
GE.00 K'alak'i Tqibuli
GE.00 K'alak'i Zugdidi



marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3926
Offline

Hi

It is a data problem. These admin regions are not in the correct region themselves, but in the generic "00" region :
http://www.geonames.org/search.html?q=adm1+ge

Someone has to move them into the correct admin region...

Regards

Marc

[WWW]
round-planet



Joined: 27/07/2006 13:51:26
Messages: 4
Offline

I was trying to correct a region (associate it to itself as a region); I'm not sure my correction takes effect - see for instance:

2 U 2007 03 03 14:52:49 Zugdidis Raioni GE roundplanet A.ADM1

in recent changes; I had tried to associate this region to itself. Any trick (note it's the first time I try to help on Geonames; maybe I'm missing something...)

visit round-planet: http://www.round-planet.com/fr/diaporama.php3
[WWW]
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3926
Offline

this is true this kind of bootstraping update has to be done directly on the database.

I did it for Georgia right now.

Marc

[WWW]
 
Forum Index -> Administrative Divisions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team