GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
feature classes explanation  XML
Forum Index -> Administrative Divisions
NAZ

Hi,

I am quite new to geoNames. I downloaded the AllCities>1000 and AllCountires files. They seem to contain lots of useful information.

I have a large list of people's locations (1G) and trying to assign the Administrative divisions to my dataset according to the two files downloded from Geonames.

I am having difficulty getting my head around the feature classes used in geoNames table.

If some one can refer me to a place which I can read about the following classes would be very useful.

P.PPL befolkad plats a city, town, village, or other agglomeration of buildings where people live and work
P.PPLA säte för en första ordningens administrativ enhet seat of a first-order administrative division (PPLC takes precedence over PPLA)
P.PPLA2 seat of a second-order administrative division
P.PPLA3 seat of a third-order administrative division
P.PPLA4 seat of a fourth-order administrative division
P.PPLC huvudstad i politisk enhet
P.PPLF farm village a populated place where the population is largely engaged in agricultural activities
P.PPLG säte av ledningen för en politisk enhet
P.PPLL befolkad ort an area similar to a locality but with a small group of dwellings or other buildings
P.PPLQ tidigare befolkad plats
P.PPLR religiös befolkad plats a populated place whose population is largely engaged in religious occupations
P.PPLS befolkade platser cities, towns, villages, or other agglomerations of buildings where people live and work
P.PPLW förstörd befolkad plats a village, town or city destroyed by a natural disaster, or by war
P.PPLX del av befolkad plats
P.STLMT israelisk bosättning