GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
New Zealand: Chatham Islands vs Bay of Islands  XML
Forum Index -> Discussion of GeoNames Toponyms
geonameguy

I have no personal knowledge of the Island regions of New Zealand, but the following was brought to my attention:

In Geonames, under "Oceania > New Zealand", one child is listed as "Chatham Islands." Still further, underneath that, is "Bay of Islands."

I don't know if there is a political reason, but there seems to be no geographic basis for this decision. A quick query of Google Maps shows that Chatham Islands are on the northeast coast of New Zealand, while Bay of Islands are on the other side of New Zealand proper, far off the eastern coast.

Some people living in Bay of Islands claim that this is totally wrong, and should be corrected. Perhaps they need to be listed side-by-side instead of one as a child of the other -- I don't know, and could not find any Wikipedia entry or other information to verify. I only found one case where "Bay of Islands" is below "Chatham Islands" but I think they are using your data.

Can you confirm?
marc

I don't see where on GeoNames 'Bay of Islands' is a child of 'Chatham Islands'. Where did you see this?

marc

[WWW]
geonameguy

According to my retrieval of the hierarchical data for GeonameID: 2189493, Chatham Islands is the direct parent of Bay of Islands.

Furthermore, Bay of Islands is not a direct child of New Zealand.

See:

http://ws.geonames.org/hierarchy?geonameId=2189493
marc

oh, I see the hierarchy service on this server did not have the newest data.

Marc

[WWW]
geonameguy

Thank you! That indeed solves one part of the problem.

However, "Bay of Islands" still cannot be found directly under (as a child of) "New Zealand," even though now the parent issue is fixed for Bay of Islands directly.