GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About 

GeoNames Forum
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Admin 2 Codes GB.ENG.00 - 2 entries?  XML
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Author Message
greg0rym



Joined: 07/10/2008 17:44:11
Messages: 2
Offline

hello, I am sure this must have been asked before but I cannot find a post.

There are two entries for GB.ENG.00 in the admin2Codes.txt file. One is for "West Midlands" and one is for "Greater London".

Is this a known issue or am I missing something fundamental here? How can I handle this?

Warm regards & thanks

Greg
marc



Joined: 08/12/2005 07:39:47
Messages: 3993
Offline

Hi Greg

'00' means we don't know. I guess we should change the feature code of these two entries as they have a different status than the other adm2 and they don't have codes in the fips coding system.

Best

Marc

[WWW]
greg0rym



Joined: 07/10/2008 17:44:11
Messages: 2
Offline

thanks Marc.

So are we saying that an admin2code of 00 for GB data could mean either "Greater London", "West Midlands" or Unknown... and therefore should not be used.

cheers

Greg

 
Forum Index -> FAQ - frequently asked questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.5 © JForum Team